Stay at Home Mom

There is a huge misconception going on in this world.  Supposedly – Moms that stay at home with their kids all day get to sit around and watch Oprah.

I haven’t seen a full episode of ANYTHING in at least two years.  🙂

Don’t get me wrong now…I am sure there are a handful of mothers out there that have the spare time to paint their toenails, catch up on the latest season of “Survivor” and eat Bon Bons all day.   Though I personally, have not met one of them.

All the Stay at Home Moms I know can barely find time for a shower.  They get the laundry going, only to forget hours later that a load had even been started.  They hustle kids to and from whatever activity it is they have, all while making sure to feed everyone before 10:00 every night.  They deal with temper tantrums, attitudes of a teenager, and all the “I wants” and “I needs” – before Dad has even made his way through the door in the evening.  They take care of sick children vomiting all over your favorite rug and change more dirty diapers than thought was humanly possible in a week.

These women are heroes.  🙂

So here’s where I’m going with this.  It doesn’t matter if you stay at home with your children or if you work 40 hours a week going to a 9 to 5 job.  Either way – we’re all constantly working people!

Now here’s where I’m *really* going with this.  (I sometimes get off on these tangents and then have to finish them off before I can finally get to where I was headed…sorry if I’m confusing you!)

I make lists.  I live off of lists.  I have notebooks FILLED with years of lists – day by day – item by item – task by task.  What’s even more bizarre is that I, for some really odd reason, cannot throw these notebooks away.  Don’t ask me why…

SO…here’s my Stay-At-Home-Mom-Sit-On-My-Rear-And-Watch-Oprah-All-Day-Long-Monday-List.

Ahhhh…A Day in the Life.

5 responses

  1. Misty Robertson

    Amen Ashley! I need to hear someone else say that stuff sometimes! It’s pretty degrading to be made to feel like I should defend myself for being a stay-at-home mom. (Even though stay-at-home often means going to and from school(s) and to the grocery store and the park and the bank and anywhere else my husband with a job doesn’t have time to go!)

    Phew!
    Thank you,
    Misty

    September 13, 2010 at 12:13 pm

  2. jantabbert@hotmail.co

    Your comment about making lists made me smile….that is you 🙂

    September 13, 2010 at 7:15 pm

  3. Peggy Sukut

    Hilarious Ashley . . . and so true. I thought while I wasn’t working that there would be time – ha! My child took full advantage of having a stay at home mom. Thank heavens the other five have flown the nest already.

    As for your lists . . . you have always had your lists. It’s just you and I love it.

    September 14, 2010 at 6:41 pm

  4. Angie

    You got it sista! You work with your business too so that doubles it all! The list thing must be genetics I am a list FREAK! Yet feel so accomplished if I get everything done on it:)

    September 14, 2010 at 8:59 pm

  5. Maybe I need to make a list like this when I am home….I might just get more accomplished! If I got a list of 6 things, I am lucky if I get half done….
    YOu rock it mama!

    October 2, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Leave a Reply

