(Recipe Share) Roasted Chicken with Twice Baked Potatoes

I love that everyone who replied to my previous post was completely in support of my posting recipes!  Seriously…it just makes me that more excited about the project!

So for my first recipe share, I decided I would do something that sounds delicious – yet also probably sounds pretty daunting to everyone. 

Roasted chicken?  Like, a whole entire chicken?  Yes.  Yes.

Twice Baked Potatoes?  Like those really good ones with all the yumminess baked into them…twice?  Yes.  Yes.

Thing is – until I tried both of these, I would have never thought I could pull them off.  Then one day, I got a hankering for some roasted chicken…and gave it a try!  In the end, the chicken is ridiculously simple – yet tastes like you slaved over it.  The potatoes, on the other hand, you do take some time to make and work on – but the end result is so amazing that you completely forget all your efforts.

I will give you quite a few of my tricks with these two dishes too.  Don’t worry…just take a deep breath…and continue on.  🙂

[Roasted Chicken]
One Whole Chicken (You can purchase the Tyson brand at Walmart for about $6.00 for a 4lb bird)
Large Roasting pan or casserole dish
Lemon Pepper
Turkey Baster (or you can use a large spoon)

  • Take your chicken out of its packaging.  Wash, and pat dry with paper towels.
  • WASH YOUR HANDS THOROUGLY. 
  • Grab your lemon pepper and shake on all sides of the chicken. 
  • Set your Chicken in your roaster or casserole dish.  WASH YOUR HANDS THOROUGHLY.  Bake according to directions on packaging.  (I bake a 4lb Chicken at 350° for almost two hours)
  • Once you’ve given your bird a good hour of cooking time, there should be some juices collecting at the bottom of your pan.  Take your turkey baster or large spoon and spoon/baste the drippings over your chicken.  Do this as often as you can (every 10 minutes or so) until your bird is finished cooking.  (This gives it an amazingly juicy flavor!)
  • Bird is finished cooking when you cut into it and the juices run COMPLETELY clear.  No pink people. 

Okay.  So there should be a photo inserted [here] that shows this golden brown and beautifully cooked chicken.  I seriously just dove into it and cut into pieces before I could snap a picture.  Can we say…

FAIL!

[Twice Baked Potatoes]
Large Baking Potatoes
Salted Butter  *Note* – all recipes I make use salted butter unless mentioned otherwise. 
Milk
Sour Cream
Cheddar Cheese
Bacon (or Bacon Bits)
Sea Salt (or Table Salt)
Coarse Black Pepper (or just plain old Black Pepper)

  • Preheat your oven to 400°
  • Take your potatoes – wash them under lukewarm water and make sure the skins are clear of any dirt.
  • Poke a bunch of holes in your taters and set them on the middle rack in the oven.
  • Bake for an hour – or until taters are done.  (When you squeeze them with an oven mitt, they should give a bit)

  • When your taters have cooled a bit, turn the potatoes on their side lengthwise, and cut the top quarter of the tater off. 
  • Take a spoon and score along the inside of the tater to make it easier to carve out the insides.
  • Spoon out the insides of your tater into a medium sized mixing bowl.

  • Now this is where it is all to taste.  I never measure *anything* when it comes to a twice baked potato.  The more butter you want, the more you mix in.  Same goes with every ingredient mentioned.  Just taste it as you go along and you’ll be happy with the end result.
  • Add butter (I prefer to melt it – it mixes easier), sea salt, coarse black pepper, milk, and sour cream to your potatoes.  Stir all ingredients in until they have been mixed evenly.
  • Add cheddar cheese and bacon.  If your mixture is too dry when you try to stir it, just add a bit more milk as needed.

Oh. My. Word.  Do you see the delicousness?  Mmmmmmm!

  • Now take your tater cavities and set them on an aluminum foil lined cookie sheet.
  • Spoon the nummy tater mixture into them.  Stuff em’ full people.  The more the better!
  • Once you have used all your tater mixture up, grab your cheddar cheese and sprinkle on top.
  • Grab any remaining bacon you might have and sprinkle that on top too.
  • You can make these ahead of time, so just stick them in a 350° oven for about a half hour before your ready to eat.  They’ll be piping hot, and trust me, that’s the exact way you want to eat them!

TA DA!!!!

Well I hope you have enjoyed my first installment of the recipe share!  Sorry it’s kind of muddled together…I promise it’ll get better with time.

Til next time…

5 responses

  1. Misty

    YUMMY!! I’m going to use just chicken breast tonight (since I have them on hand and not a whole chicken). You better believe, though, I am going to do the chicken AND these awesome potatoes!!!

    Thanks Ashley!

    November 10, 2010 at 10:11 am

  2. Mary

    Love this idea! I love recipes and learning what and how other people make for dinner! Good Job Ashley!

    November 10, 2010 at 10:26 am

  3. Peggy

    The meal was as good as the pictures looks. Enjoyed the evening and Very tasty thanks for sharing with us 🙂

    November 10, 2010 at 3:07 pm

  4. Misty

    I made the roasted chicken breasts, twice baked potatoes, homemade creamed corn AND Cherry turnovers!!! Thanks for the good ideas!!

    November 10, 2010 at 8:35 pm

  5. Yay! I’m so glad your doing recipes, and the photos are crazy gorgeous as usual. Yum, looks good. Lets do a cookbook lady!

    November 11, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Leave a Reply

