Hosting Thanksgiving

This is my first year hosting Thanksgiving.

I know some people get stressed about it, some people just take it with a grain of salt, and some people…well…they thrive at the thought!  (And that last one would be me!)

I have had my Thanksgiving Dinner planned out to a “T” for almost a month already! 

It’ll be:

  • A fabulous 20lb Turkey stuffed with onions and apples for flava
  • GRAVY
  • Our family stuffing recipe
  • Apple stuffing (Because I’m craving apples right now – and who doesn’t like options?!)
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Green bean casserole
  • My Mom’s cherry jello salad
  • Rolls
  • Olive Tray (Complete with Calamata olives – to. die. for!)
  • Deviled eggs

As far as dessert goes, I can’t bake worth a *BEEP*, so my Aunt is bringing over two homemade pies.

  • Pumpkin (Of course)
  • HUCKLEBERRY
  • That’s right, I said huckleberry.  My mouth will be stained a bluish purple for days once I’m finished with dessert…

Not to mention – I have an array of cheeses, spreads and grapes to munch on prior to the meal!  On that note, let me just tell you…it has been *very* hard for me to resist breaking into these expensive cheeses for the last week.  I. LOVE. CHEESE. and this fridge of mine is pure torture!

Well, I guess I just wanted to share my joy in how excited I am to host Turkey Day.  And everyone *has* to know what the best part about it is, right?

LEFTOVERS!!

So…While I am digging through a dozen boxes for my Christmas decorations on Friday – all the while I will be munching on leftover turkey sandwhiches and bowls full of mashed potatoes!  Gosh, I love being pregnant during the Holidays…

🙂

Ahhh…A Day in The Life…

One response

  1. Sounds amazing Ash! I know you’ll take pics and I’m excited to see how it goes. The weather is horrific up here so I am doing an alt menu at my house, that way if the weather clears we can pack it all up and take it to my parents to join with their traditional Thanksgiving spread. Otherwise we’ll be home.

    Shrimp cocktail app
    Prime rib with Horseradish sauce
    Creamed corn with bacon and green chilis
    Sweet Potato, Carrot and Apple sauteed, finished in sauce (brown sugar, butter and rosemary)
    Cranberry pie (Pioneer Woman) and Vanilla Ice Cream
    Spiced Apple Cider

    Guess I’m craving apples too… don’t think i’m preggers though!

    November 24, 2010 at 12:53 pm

Leave a Reply

