(Nature) Calving Season…

Personally, I think my next door neighbor (The Farmer) calves waaaaaaaaaaay too early. 

Like seriously – as they’re being born, the wind is whipping at a lovely 45mph and the snow is being frozen to their hide before its even had a chance to dry out from being inside the womb. 

I’m not so set that The Farmer even knows what he’s doing half the time.  The ditch (that he so unfortunately owns full water rights to) needs to be dug out again in the *worst* way.  The entire North side of my property is flooded twice a year.  I wouldn’t really mind all that much, but my garden and the building that now houses my studio is on the North side of my property.  Ugh. 

Though I may complain about him every now and then – (especially during allergy season…ESPECIALLY) I really am thankful that I have a chance to witness the beauty that his property holds.  THIS is what I get to see every. single. day. 

3 responses

  1. Ah, don’t you love calving season?! We aren’t starting until late March/early April, which is considered late compared to everyone up here but honestly, it’s easier on the cows and calves and easier on us. Good luck with the Farmer!

    January 25, 2011 at 12:56 pm

  2. You know, I guess March/April is considered late, but I think that seems more appropriate with the way Montana weather treats us! I know a rancher who lives in Ismay (near Miles City) that calves the same time you do…I’ll have to post pictures from when I was there two seasons ago. It was GOREGOUS out – couldn’t have asked for better conditions. 🙂

    January 25, 2011 at 2:27 pm

  3. gjtabbert@gmail.com

    When I was about 10 we lived in Washington state next to a dairy farm. My gramma loved to sit and watch the cows. Your picture brought back many fond memories of my dearly loved gramma. Thank you.

    January 28, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Leave a Reply

