In the beginning…

When I first developed an interest in photography, I only had the desire to photograph still objects…specifically flowers.  (Wow, to think how long ago that was…and how far I have come from that line of thought!)

On Thursday I recieved a pail of beautiful tulips from my friend Jan for my birthday.  (Thank you Jan – they’re so “Spring”!!)  I brought them home, found a place to set them and for the first time, in an embarassingly long time – I busted out my camera.

The afternoon sun was blazing through my windows to the West which was making for some very harsh lighting.  Instead of moving them, I left them right as they were. 

I find that my favorite shots tend to be ones that don’t have the clear subject.  I mean really, when you’re trying to be abstract – isn’t that the point?  To draw your eye all over the image?

So here are the few shots I came up with.  I was complaining that I needed some creativity and this exercise fulfulled me for the time being.  🙂

Ahhh….A Day in The Life…

6 responses

  1. Ashley

    I LOVE these! Great job, Ashley! 🙂

    January 25, 2011 at 8:38 am

  2. Lincoln

    I’ve seen worse!!! 😛

    January 25, 2011 at 10:39 am

  3. Gorgeous! PW’s having a flower photo contest right now, you should add these!

    January 25, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    • Thanks for filling me in girl, I’ll definately do that!

      January 25, 2011 at 2:24 pm

  4. gjtabbert@gmail.com

    Yes, look how far you have come in the years since I’ve met you. I’ve always loved your flower and nature photographs. I think I remember telling you (a time or two) that some day you’ll be a famous photographer. I’m so happy for you that you are fullfilling your dreams. You have a real passion for photography.

    January 28, 2011 at 6:05 pm

  5. gjtabbert@gmail.com

    Yes, Ashley look how far you have come in the years since I’ve met you. I’ve always loved your flower and nature photographs. I think I remember telling you (a time or two) that some day you’ll be a famous photographer. I’m so happy for you that you are fullfilling your dreams. You have a real passion for photography.

    January 28, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Leave a Reply

