(Recipe Share) Menu Mondays!

Every single Monday I make up my menu for the week.

I bust out all my favorite cook books, find a pad of paper, and sit down in the afternoon sunshine to dream up some good cookin!

I have heard some people say that they don’t know how I do it.

“How do you plan an entire week’s menu?”
“How do you have time to cook like that?”

It is plain and simple.  PLAN. PLAN. PLAN.

First of all, I am a stay at home Mom.  Yes, that gives me extra time to make up more elaborate meals.  BUT…I normally don’t start cooking until 5:00 or 5:30 on a normal evening.  So for those of you that say that I can do it just because I stay at home with my kids…BAH.  It takes the same steps and the same amount of time for a stay at home Mom to make a roast, as it does a full time working Mother to do the same.  You CAN do it! 

Second of all, I know in advance (becuase of planning, go figure!) that on Friday – I am going to be making a very elaborate meal.  Therefore I know, that I can actually fry up the bacon and crumble it on Thursday and I can even make my twice baked potatoes when I wake up on Friday morning.  That way, come Friday evening as things begin to get crazy, I actually just throw everything together in the last 45 minutes, and voila!

In all reality though, I can do it because I want to do it.  I love to cook and I like to take the time to plan and make sure I’m feeding my family well.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me some Pizza Hut every now and then – but I also want my children to grow up knowing that Zuchinni right off the plant is fabulous.  And that brewing up your own homemade salsa makes friends and neighbors flock to your house like bees to honey.

My goal though?  Raise my kids so that when they first come across a boxed and powdered potato – that they scoff and wonder how such a thing could even exist.

🙂

2 responses

  1. Love it Ash! So true. I didn’t know what Hamburger Helper was until college.

    February 17, 2011 at 11:18 am

  2. It must run in our gene pool to menu plan. Every Friday I make up the weeks list, sometimes cook a bunch on the weekends and freeze. Bryan does a lot of the cooking while I am at work in the evenings, but luckily he cooks what I plan. Have to say we do go for the potatoe flakes every once in awhile:)

    I am the mom that wants my boys to say to their future wife. “My mom makes the best _____” HA:) Well and I want them to be able to cook too.

    Love ya! Angie

    PS You are a stay at home mom and you have a job with all of your photography stuff, and you are about to add another member to your family, so bravo lady! One for all of us to admire.

    February 17, 2011 at 1:32 pm

Leave a Reply

