Reflections…

As I sit here enjoying my morning cup of coffee, I am reflecting on the past few weeks – and especially the weeks to come.

The rain is pounding against my back door, being blown in from the West.  I think even my window panes are sighing in relief that Spring might actually be here.

And with Spring, always comes change.

All the grass that sat sopping and decayed underneath the snowy drifts will see the sunshine again and sprout new growth.  The Meadowlarks will return to these fields and sing their welcome song every morning.  Every morning. 🙂

See, it really never fails.  Just when you think you can’t take anymore – it is like we all get a reprieve.  We get a chance to take a breath and realize that it is going to get better.

For me, the fact that we are blessed enough to welcome another child into our growing family is my proof that life can get better – even when you already think it is amazing. 

This morning as I browsed through my friends’ status updates on Facebook – a quote that I saw, really spoke to me.

“We are made to persist. That’s how we find out who we are.”  |Tobias Wolff|

Everything you have experienced
Everything you are experiencing
Everything you are going to experience
Is making you who you are.

OWN IT.  Soak it ALL up.  The good. The bad. The sad. The shameful…

Cause you know what you guys?  When we are all old and grey, when we sit looking through the window as the winds of Montana bring rain on our back doors – we will be the same people.

Wishing for Spring to come.

Ahhhh…A Day in The Life….

One response

  1. Misty

    Oh Ashley, you are amazing!

    March 16, 2011 at 8:18 am

Leave a Reply

