(Recipe Share) Reader Recipes: I need your help!

Alright guys – with the baby due to arrive any day now, it is time to get meals ready for the next few weeks. 

When I had the kiddo, my Mom had this great idea to go to Dinners Served in B-Town and make up a weeks worth of meals that I could freeze and then just reheat whenever we had a moment to sit down for some grub.  It was the GREATEST idea!  So…as I’m lying in bed at 3:45 this morning running through my head, I realized that this was something I should definately do again.  Only this time, I am pretty sure I can prepare even more – maybe even for two or three weeks!

With your help of course! 🙂

So…here’s my open call ladies and gents.  Puuulllease send me your best make-ahead or frozen recipes!  Feel free to either comment right here on the blog, or e-mail me at  atriversedgephoto@hotmail.com

Thanks in advance guys, I really appreciate it!!

2 responses

  1. Ashley

    I know you like tacos, so here’s a recipe for Taco Soup! So easy and yummy, and then you can freeze it in those individual sized plastic containers and then microwave to unfreeze.

    1 large can kidney beans
    1 large can pinto beans
    1 packet taco seasoning
    2 regular sized cans of diced tomatoes (either plain or with onions or whatever else added that they have in the grocery store, there are tons)
    1 can corn
    1 small can diced chilis
    Optional: 1-2 lbs browned ground beef
    Sour cream
    corn chips
    cheese

    Basically, all you have to do is empty all the cans (water and juice and all) and the seasoning into a crock pot (a large one) and set on low and that’s it. You can make it all day or for just a few hours, it doesn’t really matter. When you are ready to each, top with a dollop of sour cream, cheese, and crushed corn chips (or just eat it like dip like I do!)

    That’s the basic recipe. Once you figure out what you like, you can add more or less of something or new things, it all tastes just as good!

    March 21, 2011 at 12:43 pm

  2. Make up a big batch of meatballs have spaghetti/meatballs one night, meatballs and gravy on taters another night. Meatloaf freezes well, lasagna you can freeze in batches since it makes a TON. I like to do a pork roast then cut it up make pork sammies with bbq sauce, pork salads, pork sandwiches. If I think of more I will let you know. Hope you are feeling well.
    LOVE YA!
    ANG

    March 25, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Leave a Reply

