|Recipe Share| Beef & Tater Bake

Okay.  So my “weekly” recipe posts have definately been straggling in the recent months.  I am hoping that this recipe will make up for it though!

Due to the overwhelming requests to share this rockin’ tater tot casserole recipe – I decided that this would be the recipe that hopefully gets me back into my groove! 

I recieved this recipe from my neighbor a few days ago.  Right after we had the baby, she showed up – warm casserole in hand – to congratulate us and to keep our bellies full.  Anyone who has had a newborn in the house knows full well that food is pretty low on the list!

When I first took a look at it, I saw broccoli.

BROCCOLI?

IN MY TATER TOT CASSEROLE?

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

But being as famished as I was, I figured I should be thankful and just give it a try.

O.M.G.

Seriously, this is officially my favorite casserole to make now.  Don’t let the ingredients fool you.  It is beyond tasty and will satisfy even the pickiest eater in your household. 

Calories?  Lets just forget that we’re paying attention to those numbers, okay? 

Enjoy!

Beef & Tater Bake

4 cups frozen tater tots
1lb. ground beef
1 package (16oz) frozen chopped broccoli, thawed
1 can condensed cream of broccoli soup, undiluted
1 meduim tomato, chopped
1 can french fried onions, divided
1 cup shredded Colby-Monterey Jack cheese, divided
1/3 cup 2% milk
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/8 tsp. pepper

– Place tater tots in an ungreased 13×9″ baking dish.  Bake, uncovered at 400° for 10 minutes.

– Meanwhile, in a large skillet, cook beef over medium heat until no longer pink; drain.  Stir in the broccoli, soup, tomato, 3/4 cup french-fried onions, 1/2 cup cheese, milk, garlic powder and pepper; heat through.  Pour over tator tots.

– Cover and bake for 20 minutes.  Uncover; sprinkle with remaining onions and cheese. Bake an additional 5-10 minutes longer or until cheese is melted.

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmmm!

Comments are closed.