[Recipe Share] Nacho Casserole!

I can’t even believe that I haven’t posted anything in…well…I don’t even know how long.  The hubby has been working out of the state all week long, so that’s my excuse.  Being at home with two kids 24/7 without him to help has been beyond exhausting.  It looks as though there is a light at the end of the tunnel though, so hopefully I will pick things up and lead right were I left off!

This recipe comes straight from my newest obsession.  PINTEREST.  If you don’t have an invite yet, email me (atriversedgephoto@hotmail.com) and I will send one to you.  It is amazing.  AMAZING. 

I have to give props to the original person that posted the recipe.  I haven’t had much of a chance to check out the rest of the blog, but if it is anything like this recipe, I am sure there are all sorts of surprises and goodies to be had.  http://blogchef.net/mexican-casserole-recipe/ 

Now onto the show…

[Nacho Casserole]

Tortilla Chips
1lb. Ground Beef
Taco Seasoning
Approx. 2c. Shredded Cheese (I prefer the Mexican blend)
Refried Beans
1c. of your favorite Salsa
Green Onions
Black Olives
Tomatoes

First of all – bust out your knife.  As you can see, I sharpen mine every time I use them.  It’s worth it.  Who wants to try and slice into a tomato with a dull blade?  Not me!  Don’t know how to sharpen a knife?  Learn. 

Cut your green onions and tomatoes.

Begin to brown the ground beef.  Open up the can of refried beans and warm them on medium heat.

Once your ground beef is done cooking, add the taco seasoning and follow the directions on the back of the packet.

Once your refried beans have warmed up, pour approx. 1c. of salsa and 1c. of cheese into the beans.  Mix until blended well and the cheese has melted.  (I always add more cheese.  Do you see that beautiful mount of goodness?  Nom Nom Nom Nom!)

Now onto the fun part!

Start with a layer of tortilla chips on the bottom of a 8″x11″ dish.
Add the refried bean mixture.
Top bean mixture with all the seasoned ground beef.
Add a nice handful of cheese on top of the ground beef.

At this point, add another layer of tortilla chips.
MORE CHEESE. 
Sprinkle black olives on top of the cheese.
Add green onions. 
(Wait to add the tomatoes until after the casserole has cooked.  The flavor is much brighter.)

After cooking in the oven for 30-45 minutes at 350 degrees…this is the beautiful ending! 
I love it, hubby loves it, Kiddo loves it, and I am sure that if Noodle was old enough to eat this type of food, she would love it too!

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

