{A Day In The Life} To Chico We Go!

I can’t even really remember when I was at Chico last.  All I know is that it was when my Dad and brother were still alive and it was well before I turned into a lovely form of “teenager.” 🙂 So really, I am thinking, it must have been in 1997-1998.  14 YEARS AGO.  Wow!

We kind of planned this trip to Chico out of the blue, and I am so glad we did.  The Hubby and I went with our friends Tony and Donna Smith for a *much needed* overnight of rest, relaxation, laughs, and of course – AMAZING food!

After a drive complete with snow, sleet, and icy roads, we arrived at our little bungalow more than ready for a drink or two.  We met with Tony and Donna and headed down to the dining room where I had the BEST (Seriously, the BEST) Bruschetta I have ever had.  Ever.  Of course the rest of the meal was absolutely divine, but I swear I can still taste those roasted tomatoes at this very moment.  🙂

Really, people go to Chico for all sorts of reasons.
The location…
The food…
The atmosphere…
But most of all…for the pool.

After eating myself silly at dinner, we all dawned our suits and sat in the 96 degree water where we laughed and talked shop.  When my skin was wrinkled like a raisin, I got dressed and walked the same hall to the same lobby as I had so many years ago.

Its funny; returning to a place after so many years of being gone, and it still feels the same to me.  It’s like my own private little sanctuary, which is odd because I have shared it with so many thousands upon thousands of people that I’m sure feel the same way that I do.  But when I went to turn the door knob heading out to the pool for the first time in 14 years, I realized – that is the same door knob.

The same door knob that my Dad and little brother turned so many years ago on our little retreats to the mountain hideaway.

It really made me smile 🙂

So even though I returned later in life after a husband, two kids, and so many moons later – I am glad to have spent the time there again with the people that I did.  I had a blast and felt like I had finally recharged my battery for a bit!

Here’s to making Chico a tradition in my life once again.

Ahhhh….A Day In The Life!

(Note:  This trip took place in October 2011.  I have only now had the time to sit down and blog about it!)

 

Leave a Reply

